Main Page CJLY
Deconstructing Dinner: Reconstructing Our Food System
recent showslisten live
The Future of Prison Farms

In February 2009, it was discovered that Canada's-then Public Safety Minister, Peter Van Loan, alongside the Correctional Service of Canada, had planned the closure of all six of the prison farms owned by the people of Canada and operated by CORCAN - the branch of the Correctional Service that operates rehabiliation programs that provide employment training to inmates. The farms are located in Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario and New Brunswick.

The closure of the farms has resulted in a wave of opposition across the country from organizations, unions and individuals who see the farms as playing an important rehabilitative role, they further the growing interest across the country to support local agricultural infrastructure, they produce food for their own operations, and they hold the potential to become even greater models of economic, environmental and social sustainability.

Past Broadcasts

Listen to Deconstructing Dinner's Jon Steinman interviewed on Vancouver Co-op Radio's Redeye about the status of Canada's Prison Farms (July 24, 2010).

August 12 - "The Future of Prison Farms V: Abducted Cows"
Andrew McCann, Aric McBay, Dianne Dowling, Jeff Peters

June 17 - "Margaret Atwood Joins Prison Farms Campaign (The Future of Prison Farms IV)"
Margaret Atwood, Jeff Peters, William Commanda, Sister Pauline Lally, Andrew McCann, Aric McBay, Wayne Easter, Mark Holland Alex Atamanenko, Maria Mourani

April 8 - "Final Attempt to Save Prison Farms (The Future of Prison Farms III)"
Ross Toller, Mark Holland, John Sargent, Wayne Easter, Shelly Glover, Andrew Kania, John Leeman, Bill Flanagan, Larry McDermott, Dave Perry, Ron Amey

February 4 - "The Future of Prison Farms II"
Wayne Easter, James Bezan, Carol Hughes, Pierre Lemieux, André Bellavance, Andrew McCann,
John Hutton, Mark Holland, Niki Ashton

July 2 - "The Future of Prison Farms"
Andrew McCann, Dianne Dowling


Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.5 License.