We’re proud of all of our programmers here at KCR, but this week we want to throw out a bit of extra love to four of our programmers who took home three NCRA awards from the organization’s 2018 conference held in Fredericton earlier this month. Every year the NCRA gives hosts the awards to celebrate the best in campus and community radio from across the country.

“The winning submissions this year are a great example of the way in which volunteers in campus and community radio work to elevate and engage community voices, and promotions local music”, said Executive Director, Barry Rooke. This year’s winners include:

Tanya Coad (host and producer of the show Climate of Change) won for Best Current Affairs Program; this is Tanya’s third NCRA award. Climate of Change is currently on hiatus. 

Jeff Flood (host and producer of ¡Oye!) won for Best Third Language Program. This is Jeff’s first show on Kootenay Co-op Radio but he has previous campus radio experience from Carleton University (CKCU) in 1974-77. Jeff is taking a break from the radio show as he is busy with being on the Board of Directors for KCR.

Show hosts and producers Jeff Pilsner and Ana Bokstrom won the Women’s Hands and Voices Award for their show “Shift Happens”. Jeff and Ana have been doing this show for 5 years and they have no previous radio experience outside of Kootenay Co-op Radio. You can hear ‘Shift Happens’ every Tuesday from 2 -4pm.

Kootenay Co-op Radio wants to congratulate our 2017 NCRA Award winners as well as thank all of our volunteer show hosts, board and committee members, and staff for all the hard work they put into making quality local content available. Every season KCR invites the community to submit a proposal to a host of their very own radio show. KCR provides all the training and support needed. If you’re interested, you can learn more here.