With submissions for the 2019 Kootenay Music Awards now closed, the task of sorting through the 172 entries is underway! Presented by Kootenay Co-op Radio, the KMA’s celebrates the incredible and diverse range of music produced by artists here in the Kootenays. With 86 unique artists involved in this year’s program, 2019 is the biggest Kootenay Music Awards to date.

A panel of judges will work together to consider artists across eight genre-based categories, and the public may VOTE on their pick for Artist of the Year and Best Music Video. Polls are open until March 17, 2019. The judged categories for this year’s program are:

Best Roots Song
Judges: Carla Stephenson & Shawn Stephenson, Organizers of Tiny Lights Festival

Best Rock Song
Judge: Marc-Andre Hamelin – Lead guitar, BC/DC, Val Kilmer and the New Coke

Best Electronic Producer
Judge: Christine Hunter – Director of Entertainment, Shambhala Music Festival

Best Electronic DJ
Judges: Max & Taylor – Artists DOSE (DJ) – Hosts of dose.radio on Kootenay Co-op Radio

Best Jam-Band/Artist
Judge: Michael Murray – Host of Flashback 70s with Brother Michael on Kootenay Co-op Radio

Best Pop Song
Judge: Nicole Seaboyer – Band manager / HR director Shambhala Music Festival

Best Hip-Hop Artist
Judge: Rolf Gosney aka DJ Adept – Host of Good Times Buffet on Kootenay Co-op Radio

Best Rhythm & Blues Song
Judge: Neil Sorochan – Host of Earth Vibes and Straight No Chaser on Kootenay Co-op Radio

There are also be two People’s Choice awards for Artist of the Year, and Best Music Video. The public is invited to vote for their favourites starting on March 4th with the last day of voting on March 16th.

Tickets for the March 23rd gala happening at Spirit Bar are $25.00 and ON SALE NOW. Don’t miss out on getting yours while you can. Stay tuned for more info, and don’t forget to VOTE for Artist of the Year and Best Music Video before March 17th!